Ceramic Industry

BIA Elects Board Members

March 26, 2012

The Brick Industry Association (BIA) has elected a new chairman, board members and officers. Longtime officer Brett Packer, president of Packer Brick Inc., will begin a two-year term as BIA chairman after serving as vice chairman. Robert F. Belden, president and CEO of The Belden Brick Co., will return as vice chairman. Sam Strang, president of Alley-Cassetty Companies Inc., will serve a second term as treasurer. Charles Ward, senior vice president and general manager of Hanson Brick, was named secretary. The immediate past chairman is Dennis Knautz, president and CEO of Acme Brick Co.

“We’re indebted to our board and council members’ commitment to BIA’s mission and our shared belief that genuine clay brick delivers the greatest value for sustainable building,” said Gregg Borchelt, president and CEO of the BIA.

The BIA’s Distributor Council elected Joe Rice, CEO of Belden Tri-State Building Materials, as chairman for two additional years. Jerry Vinci, executive vice president of Illinois Brick Co., returns as vice chairman. Former vice chairman Mike Ludden, president of L. Thorn Co. Inc., was appointed treasurer.

The BIA’s Manufacturer Council promoted Butch McAvoy, president of McAvoy Brick Co., from vice chairman to chairman. Davis Henry, vice president at Henry Brick Co. Inc., was named vice chairman, andHebron Brick Co. CEO Rodney Paseka was elected treasurer.

For more information, visit www.gobrick.com.