Ceramic Industry

BrickStainable Awards Announced

March 15, 2011

Recipients to be honored at the BrickStainable Awards Ceremony on March 31 in Washington, D.C., have been announced. Potomac Valley Brick will award a $10,000 grand prize in the Integrated Building Design Category to Jamillah Muhammad and her team at Perkowitz & Ruth in Virginia. It will also award a $7500 grand prize in the Technical Design category to Kelly Winn and his team at the Center for Architecture Science and Ecology (CASE) in New York.

Muhammad’s winning team includes Ronald Moore, Dindo Mabana, Tou Boran Pek, Kathleen Stover and Boryana Fileva. Winn worked with associate professor Jason Vollen and other members at CASE.

The Integrated Building Design category sought solutions that exploit the thermal qualities of masonry construction in an urban building. Muhammad describes her entry, Net Zero in Baltimore, as “sited to maintain the urban fabric of the streets and sidewalks to the North and East, maintaining pedestrian connections to the boardwalk and water taxi to the Northwest. The hardscape is made from recycled brick and is 100% permeable, with pathways that display some of the indigenous bio-fuels that MassEnergy is developing.”

The Technical Design category called for entrants to design a single application using brick to enhance its sustainable properties. Winn notes his entry, EcoCeramic Masonry System, “uses composite fibers and resins as an integral tensile layer, replacing steel and mortar and increasing tensile strength and flexural ability.”

Three honorable mention winners were named in the Integrated Building Design category: Heather Midori Santos and Jillian Christina Schroettinger, students at Cal Poly Pomona (Calif.) for MassEnergy Science Center; Shane Valentine, a student at University of Texas San Antonio (Texas) for Cultivating Energy; and Robert Kane, a student in San Casciano (Italy) for BRICK BRICK BRICK BRICK.

Two honorable mentions were named in the Technical Design category: Kelly Winn, Jason Vollen and Ted Ngai, of CASE New York for Climate Camouflage; and Rizal Muslimin, a student at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Mass.) for BrickBead. Each honorable mention will be awarded $2000 per entry.

“This year’s winners personify the essence of this competition with their creative ideas for increasing building sustainability using brick,” said Alan Richardson, president of Potomac Valley Brick and creator of BrickStainable.

For more information, visit www.BrickStainable.com.