Ceramic Industry

Phoenix Award Committee Thanks Out-Going Members (posted 7/9/08)

July 9, 2008

2008 Phoenix Award Committee (PAC) Chairman Paul Guttmann, U.S. Silica Co., recently thanked all out-going members for their contributions and years of generous service. In particular, Guttmann thanked Pat Battersby, Emhart Glass, for the excellent leadership and support he provided while serving as PAC’s 2007 chairman. Other out-going members included Jean Coquatrix of Bernard Bonnefond, Henry Dimmick of AGR International, Richard Stormont of Electroglass Ltd., Frank Dumoulin of Praxair Inc., and Brian Summerson of Dura Temp Corp.

The committee annually selects and awards an outstanding individual, now living, who has been active in and has made noteworthy contributions to the glass industry. All committee members serve for a period of four years and are employed by suppliers of the glass manufacturing industry.

In March, six new members were elected to replace those whose terms have expired. New members include Mike Connop, PT Dyson Zedmark Indonesia Ltd.; Paul Hutchinson, DSF Refractories & Minerals Ltd.; H.J. Moon, Kukdong International Co. Ltd.; George E. Sakoske, Glass Systems, Ferro Corp.; Thorsten Seidel, Ernst Pennekamp GmbH & Co. OHG; and Roger P. Weilacher, Glass Design, Inc.

For more information, call (440) 708-0886.