Ceramic Industry

SME Members Elevated to College of Fellows

September 17, 2003
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) recently announced the election of nine industry leaders as SME Fellows. The fellowships will be presented at the 2003 Awards and Installation Banquet on November 16, 2003, in tandem with the SME Fall Board of Directors Meeting, being held at the Hyatt Regency Dearborn, Dearborn, Mich. The 2003 member Fellows include: David Arnold, vice president and chief technical officer, Kennametal Inc.; Dennis S. Bray, Ph.D., executive vice president, Cincinnati Inc.; Thomas Charlton, Jr., consultant, Charlton Associates; Fukuo Hashimoto, Ph.D., senior scientist and director, Advanced Process Technology, the Timken Co.; Bruce M. Kramer, Ph.D., director of Engineering Education and Centers, National Science Foundation; Don A Lucca, Ph.D., CMfgE, a Tom J. Cunningham professor at Oklahoma State University; Brij B. Seth, Ph.D., PE, (retired) corporate technical specialist, Ford Motor Co.; Rajiv Shivpuri, Ph.D., most recently professor, Industrial & Systems Engineering, The Ohio State University; and Klaus Weinmann, Ph.D., professor, Michigan Technological University. The SME College of Fellows was created to honor members who have made outstanding contributions to the field of manufacturing.

For more information, visit http://www.sme.org .