Ceramic Industry

Wienerberger Announces 2010 Brick Award Winners

April 13, 2010

Wienerberger AG recently handed out its annual Brick Awards, along with €21,000 (about $28,300) in prize money. Architecture critics submitted 260 projects from 32 countries for this year's competition. A jury of international experts, including Andrea Deplazes (Switzerland), Maurizio Masi (Italy), Radu Mihailescu (Romania), Vladimir Plotkin (Russia) and Thomas Rau (Netherlands), chose the winners. Selection criteria included an architecturally innovative external appearance with an appropriate use of brick as a material, as well as the functionality and the environmental friendliness of the building put forward.

“Our man-made surroundings have a considerable impact on our sense of well-being,” said Heimo Scheuch, CEO of Wienerberger AG. “That is why it is important for architecture not only to satisfy present requirements, but also to contribute to the future of construction. I am particularly pleased to see that for a lot of the projects that were submitted for this year’s Brick Award, the idea of sustainability played a significant role. It became evident that sustainability was being achieved not only through the application of technology in architecture, but also through the use of advanced materials and intelligent building designs, not to mention consideration of geographical and climatic conditions. These factors play a positive role in the overall energy balance of a building, not just on its energy demands. We also pay heed to this idea with our e4- Program, which embodies our concept of an energy-efficient brick building.”

The Wienerberger Brick Awards 2010 were presented during a gala dinner on April 8 in the Liechtenstein Museum in Vienna. More than 300 international guests, as well as the Wienerberger AG board of directors, attended the ceremony. In addition to honoring the architects and presenting the trophies, the company also unveiled its Brick 2010 coffee-table book, which celebrates the winning projects and 35 other exceptional brick structures from all over the world.

The grand prize winner this year was the State Forum and Parliament of the Principality of Liechtenstein; the architect was Hansjörg Göritz of Architecture Studio. The newly built State Parliament building in Vaduz reflects the many stages in its development history. After the building scheme that resulted from the first competition was rejected, the design by architect Hansjörg Göritz emerged as the winner of the second competition held in 2000. The final building was officially opened in 2008.

Other Brick Award 2010 winners included: South Asian Human Rights Documentation Centre, India (Anagram Architects); The Morjan-Poeten House, Germany (architect, Nikolaus Bienefeld); Public Buildings, Republic of Mali (architect, Emilio Caravatti); and the Architecture Museum for the Island of Hombroich Foundation, Germany (architects, Álvaro Siza and Rudolf Finsterwalder).

Additional information is available at www.wienerberger.com.